thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

ratatouille

I have noticed that, since my sons saw the new Pixar movie “Ratatouille,” they have had a heightened interest in cooking and are eating more vegetables.  (And more meat, too, since my oldest son at home is working in the meat department at our local grocery store and buys and brings home marked down steaks at the end of the day.) Perhaps that scene of the rats in the pantry and the “yuck factor” involved has inspired them.  Whatever the reason, I decided to create my own verson of ratatouille since country vegetable stands and farmers’ markets are bursting with fresh ingredients. My favorite seen of the movie, by the way, is when the food critic takes the first bite of the ratatouille and it takes him back to his childhood and his mom’s dinner table. Priceless.

Thatmom’s Ratatouille

Olive oil
minced garlic, generous amount
sliced zucchini and yellow squash
thinly sliced Bermuda onion rings
sliced mushrooms
sliced red and green bell peppers
coarse salt, freshly ground pepper

On fairly high heat, saute all vegetables in olive oil, allowing them to remain a little crisp but nicely browned.  Season well with coarse salt and pepper.  Serve over rice.  We like this as a side to grilled chicken.  Traditional ratatouille is made with egg plant and lots of tomatoes.  Since none of us like cooked tomatoes very well, I slice a fresh tomato and serve on the side. Egg plant is good but optional.

3 Comments»

  Julie wrote @

YUM! Now you’ve inspired me! My boys loved that movie when we were on vacation! They came back to the kitchen at the motel and played restaurant. I loved the short film at the beginning-too hilarious, especially since I live out in the desert and occasionally have irrational thoughts of aliens arriving. 🙂

Can’t wait to try this out with veggies from my garden.

  thatmom wrote @

Julie,

Now, if aliens came to my house, I would hope they would be the laundry aliens, the ones who would steal away dirty socks, eat them, and spit back out clean one. Wouldn’t that be cool?

  Julie wrote @

Totally! Kinda like the elves that made all the shoes? I once knew a guy who said he thought the “other sheep” Jesus talked about weren’t the Gentiles, but aliens! Maybe I do have aliens here who eat one of each of all my kids’ socks…


Leave a comment