thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

a thumbnail sketch of me

My sweet friend, Deanne, tagged me with the request for 7 facts about me, facts that you may or may not know (or care) about, so here goes:

1. Clay and I met during a college class on the Puritan and Transcendentalist writers. (I found out later that he registered for the class after finding out that I would be taking it!) The professor, Dr. Ryder, was also the pastor who married us and who officiated at our vow renewal ceremony on our 25th wedding anniversary. He still comes to see us once or twice a year and loves to tell the story that Clay had no black socks when he was getting ready for the wedding. So they rummaged around in the back of the closet in my dead grandfather’s bedroom until they found an old, worn pair. Creepy but true.

2. My favorite color is red. Not only do I wear a lot of red, but most of our vehicles have been red, including both of the current ones. My living room is painted red, my Kitchen-Aid mixer is red, and sometimes my hair is even red!

3. I don’t read much fiction but I love to read non-fiction, especially books on history and biographies. My favorite series of children’s books is the Little House series and I read them for the first time when I was pregnant with my first child. We still read The Long Winter as a lunch time read-aloud every January and my grown boys at home still enjoy it.

4. We lived for 3 1/2 years in southern Germany when Clay was in the army. Our two oldest sons were born in Bad Tolz. We had frequent visitors from the States and I became quite good at giving my own personal tour of Bavaria and Salzburg, Austria.

5. Had I not chosen to be a wife, mommy, and homeschooling mom, I might have become a professional bread chef, an interior decorator, a high school teacher, a journalist, a Biblical counselor, a story teller, or a motivational speaker. I still haven’t decided which path I will choose once this one is completed. Traveling grandmother is high in the running.

6. Besides the Bible, the writings that have most influenced my spiritual life are those by Francis Schaeffer. My favorite books on relating to each other as family members and Christians are Children Are Wet Cement by Anne Ortlund, Heartfelt Discipline by Clay Clarkson, and Families Where Grace is in Place by Jeff Van Vonderan.

7. Things I enjoy include: chocolate, Mexican food with lots of cilantro, tulips, zinnias, finding treasures in trash, watching Clay build even more bookshelves (hey, Thomas Jefferson owned 7000 books and I am more than half way there!) Toastmasters, encouraging moms, listening to Motown, Mozart, movie soundtracks, White Stripes videos, cheesy romantic movies and history documentaries, my cat, baking, and sewing when the machine works properly. Things I dislike but must do anyway are cleaning up vomit, scrubbing the bathroom, balancing the checkbook and exercising.

There are 4 simple rules to this fun game of internet tag.

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules on your blog.
2. Share 7 facts about yourself on your blog, some random, some weird.
3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post by leaving their names as well as links to their blogs.
4. Let them know they are tagged by leaving a comment on their blog.

And be sure to check out the bloggers I am tagging today:

Camille

Corrie

Julie

Kate

Mollie

Lynn

Talia

11 Comments»

  I’ve Been Tagged « Kate’s Chosen wrote @

[…] Been Tagged Karen of thatmom blog has tagged me today.  I’ve never been tagged before and when I went to see what it meant to be tagged it was so […]

  Deanne wrote @

Hi Karen! What a fun list –and it great to hear more about you and Clay..I simply LOVED #1…but I always thought it was the bride who had “something OLD, something new”… 🙂
but alas my dear friend, you have started a new tradition…
Love Deanne

  Lynn wrote @

Thanks for the tag. I’ll post mine to my blog today.

  Stacie wrote @

I vote for traveling grandma!

  Talia wrote @

what fun things to read and learn about you! Loved it.
Thank you for tagging me, and I promise I am going to get around to doing it… I’ve been slacking in the blogging area– too much else going on lately! 🙂 But now at least I know exactly what my next post can be when I do find the time.

  APuritanLady wrote @

Karen, I just wanted to thank you for your podcasts. I had not heard of your site till yesterday, and due to missing services with a sick child, I listened to more than half a dozen of them. They really spoke to me of where I am and where I’ve been. Thank you, JC

  Anglicanmum wrote @

I want to thank you too for your podcasts. They have been such an encouragement to me as somebody who would like to homeschool in the future but hasn’t taken the plunge yet. It’s so refreshing to hear a positive, encouraging woman, who is principled but loving in her approach to those who take other approaches and views. Thank you so much for the work you put into your ministry and for taking on this work.

Suggestion for another topic: comfort eating and SAHMs. We are statistically more likely to become overweight than working mothers due to lack of exercise and availability of food all day. How can we combat this, get enough exercise, set good examples to our kids and look after the needs of our bodies whilst we’re at home? Apologies if you’ve already tackled this – I’m still working my way through your podcasts.

I notice that the podcasts are copyright. May I please make a CD copy of a couple of them to give to a homeschooling friend who doesn’t get on the internet much?

  thatmom wrote @

Talia, I am looking forward to your list! I love checking in to your blog and seeing the girls (well, you, too, of course!) Clayton asked me to come out to help when the baby is born so I am planning to do that and will look forward to seeing you all in person then. I can’t wait to meet Jessica’s new family!

  thatmom wrote @

Dear Puritan Lady,

Thank you for your kind words and welcome to my blog. I hope and pray that your sick little one is better. Whatever has been going around here is awful and lingering.

I am sorry it was under not-so-good circumstances, but I am glad you found this site and I look forward to your insights!

  thatmom wrote @

Dear Anglicanmum,

Welcome to the blog! Since you are “mum” rather than “mom” are you by chance from Australia? I ask because I just realized this weekend that there are quite a view visitors here from there. Can I just say, an Australian accent is my favorite? 🙂

You are welcome to make as many CD’s as you would like of the podcasts. My only requirement is that you give me credit and include the web addresses for the podcast archives and this blog along with the CD. I would be so happy to encourage anyone you think might enjoy listening.

I giggle at your suggestion for a podcast, not really because it was funny but because this is an area of personal struggle for me. I really dislike exercise even though I know I feel so much better when I do it regularly. (I would much rather be exercising my mind on the couch with a good book!)

Combined with the fact that I love to cook for my household of hungry young men and I love to eat what they eat, just not in the quantities they do….I would explode…and it is truly my biggest downfall. I would love to hear from moms who have had success with this.

  thatmom wrote @

Oh, and I forgot to add this, I hope you DO take the plunge. Homeschooling as been the single best choice we have ever made for our children and now it is so fun to see the grandchildren also learning and being nurtured at home by their own parents.

Clay and I often reflect on the things we are glad that we did with our children and the things we wish we would have done differently. (One of these days I am going to ask a group of seasoned homeschoolers to tell me about that and then air it all at once. Wouldn’t that be great?) We both agree that our children, all children, really, learn more by “catching” our views and by imitating our actions rather than by what we have ever opened in a textbook. In fact, that will be part of this week’s podcast.


Leave a Reply

