thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

great thought #28

“You don’t raise heroes, you raise sons. And if you treat them like sons, they’ll turn out to be heroes, even if it’s just in your own eyes.” Walter M. Schirra, Sr.

Over the weekend we celebrated our son’s 17th birthday. Joe is our youngest child, the 5th son, the tall, lanky teenager who weighted nearly 11 pounds at birth. During the last half hour of delivery, I remember the nurses saying things like “Wow, I’ll bet this one is 11 or 12 pounds” and “this may be a record birth weight for the year.” These women had never been cheerleaders.

When he was born, he was too large to be weighed on the scale in the delivery room so they had to take him to the nursery. I suppose I should have known then that he would be 6’2″ and still growing at 17. To me, though, he was a tiny, precious bundle and I fell in love immediately.

Happy, happy birthday, Joe. May the Lord continue to shine His grace on your life.

2 Comments»

  Kim wrote @

Karen, How can it be our boys are getting so big? Erick started working at Ace Hardware this week. He is also over 6’……..they were babies such a short time ago.

I hope you can all come to the wedding and we can see them all again!

  thatmom wrote @

Kim, somewhere I have a picture of you with Erick who was just a few months old at the time and I was HUGELY pregnant with Joe….it was the day you spent the night before you all moved. Where DOES time go? I look at Samuel, who will be 8 in a few weeks, and remember so well when Sam was that age! I am trying to get our scanner to work so I can post the pictures of Mollie and Lola side by side! Clay and I cannot believe how much they look alike.

How are wedding plans coming? And house-selling plans? You will need for fall to come just to relax!


Leave a Reply

