thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

home

I like to see a lovely lawn
Bediamoned with dew at dawn,
But mine is often trampled bare,
Because the youngsters gather there.

I like a spotless house and clean
Where many a touch of grace is seen.
But mine is often tossed about
By youngsters racing in and out.

I like a quiet house at night
Where I may sit to read and write.
But my peace flies before the tones
Of three brass throated saxophones.

My books to tumult are resigned,
In vain my furniture is shined,
My lawn is bare, my flowers fall,
Youth rides triumphant over all.

I love the grass, I love the rose,
And every living thing that grows.
I love the books I ponder o’er,
But oh, I love the children more!

And so unto myself I say:
Be mine the house where youngsters play!
Oh, little girl, oh healthy boy,
Be mine the house which you enjoy!

by Edgar A. Guest

“Where no oxen are, the trough is clean. But much increase comes by the strength of the ox.” Proverbs 14:4

5 Comments»

  Talia wrote @

this is such a sweet (and true!) poem. I just love it, and I think I will be giving copies to all my girlfriends with kids! 🙂

  meloff wrote @

Absolutely beautiful!
Thank you for this wonderful reminder of the things that are truly important.

  Kari wrote @

Beautiful poem. Guest has some lovely writings, and I like how he emphasizes the things in life that are really important and meaningful. Thanks for sharing!

  Corrie wrote @

I LOVE Edgar Guest’s poems. I have collected many of his books of poetry. I don’t know if I have ever read this particular poem but I truly needed to hear this reminder today. Sometimes it is hard to see clearly when a person is always down in the trenches fighting mucky finger prints on the walls, spots on the carpeting and a constant mess in the kitchen.

  thatmom wrote @

We have little to no grass in our front yard, mostly dirt and some moss. Our friend Brad, the grass expert, told us we had two factors working against us…shade and children. We plan to keep both and not worry about the grass! The lawn is lovely, however, in October when all those trees shed their leaves!


Leave a Reply

