thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

easy, easy apple dumplings

This recipe came from The Pioneer Woman Cooks and is one of her top 5 recipes. I tweaked it a little to make a larger batch. It’s a good thing I did. I had nothing to scrape out of the dish when I loaded it in the dishwasher! My boys got a kick out of me buying the Mountain Dew, since I usually tell them how bad the stuff is for them!

3 pkgs. Pillsbury or other crescent rolls

2 cups white sugar

2 ½ sticks butter

Cinnamon

2 tsp.vanilla

3 apples (I used Braeburn)

1 ¾ cups Mountain Dew

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Peel apples and slice each one into 8 slices. Roll one slice in each of the crescent rolls and arrange in pan. (I used my lasagna pan which is about 9 X 12) Over medium low heat, melt butter. Add sugar and stir but allow it to remain grainy. Stir in vanilla. Pour over the rolls. Sprinkle with cinnamon. Then pour the Mountain Dew around the edges and down the middle of the pan. (My kids loved that part.) Bake for 40 to 45 minutes. Really great served warm with ice cream! Serves 12 normal people; serves 6 if some of them are teenage boys!

picture courtesy Linda Stradley

4 Comments»

  janellcampbell wrote @

I can’t wait to try this recipe. You know how much my boys loves sweets and cresent rolls- especially Samuel. I love how easy it sounds.
janell

  thatmom wrote @

Janell, we thought of Samuel when we made them and even called them “twisty bread” dumplings!

Did you see Vienna’s picture here a couple weeks ago? Too cute.

  anna wrote @

Hello Karen, I stumbled upon Pioneer Woman via another blog just last week. I made these dumplings this past weekend and I have to agree they are scrumptious! And so simple! I used a little less Mountain Dew, though, because I was afraid it would turn out too juicy.

  Lin wrote @

My daughter has a friend staying over tonight and I had them ‘wrap’ the apples for this recipe and then they got to pour on the mtn dew. (I used diet and the baking splenda) They had a ball.

Then Grandpa dropped by just as it was finishing baking and we had a party. This was absolutely delicious right out of the oven with vanilla ice cream. What a simple thing to make!


Leave a Reply

