thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

june 20 podcast

“Even though I was a Christian, I had never thought about the content of the materials she would be taught or even the influence of other children. However, I had considered how awful it was going to be to turn over my job as her teacher to someone else and how much I was going to miss her sweet sunny personality and her eagerness to learn all sorts of new things. I put her on the big yellow bus and tucked those thoughts far away because all the parenting magazines said I was supposed to do that. During those days, I had not yet formulated what I actually believed about educating a child because it had never occurred to me that I needed to do this. A philosophy of education was for education majors and stuffy department heads in universities.” Listen here for this week’s podcast entitled “The Why’s and How’s of Writing Your Own Philosophy of Education.”

2 Comments»

  The Savage wrote @

However, I had considered how awful it was going to be to turn over my job as her teacher to someone else and how much I was going to miss her sweet sunny personality and her eagerness to learn all sorts of new things.

This is why I’m considering homeschooling. This, and the fact that my son tends to be a follower. But I am so not cut out for homeschooling… I guess I need to start listening to your podcasts, eh?

  thatmom wrote @

Savage,

It is an interesting thing. Some of the very best homeschooling moms I have known have told me the very same thing!

Here is the homeschooling mom’s life verse!!!!

“But he said to me, My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. ” 2 Corinthians 12:9


Leave a Reply

