thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

mid-summer memories

Three years ago this month, Clay was busy building a deck on the back of our house. Along with help from sons and a son-in-law, they put together an outdoor paradise, at least the framework for one! Talia asked me for pictures, so today she gets her wish!

This is what the dreadful backyard looked like before. Our house was built in 1894 so there is always something that needs to be done to it. But she is a grand old Victorian lady and I love her.

This is my cat, John Calvin, waiting for a taste treat from the table. Did I just admit to that?

This was taken a couple years ago in the fall…no weeding and lots of Miracle-Gro! Oh, and Illinois rain and sunshine!

This was taken from the backyard at night. Mollie strung hundreds of Christmas lights in the cherry tree that grows through one end of the deck. That first year we had scads of nasty berries all over but haven’t had that problem since then. Clay kept threatening to cut down the tree so I think she heard him and was scared into infertility!

Ben took this on the upper deck a few weeks ago. The only thing missing was Clay’s delicious grilled chicken and my potato salad.

8 Comments»

  Amy R. wrote @

How beautiful! I can not even choose which photo I like best!

  RichardD wrote @

These pictures are gorgeous! I love your back yard. Can we trade houses?

  thatmom wrote @

Richard, I would have to see your backyard first!!! With all you write about Lynchburg, it sounds like a lovely spot!

  Lin wrote @

Oh, I would love reading there in the fall, of course. :o)

  Talia wrote @

hooray! Thanks for sharing the pictures, it was a lovely glimpse into your beautiful backyard. Your deck is fantastic, and I love the table settings too!
I did not realize you lived in such an old house… that is so neat. I simply love old houses with tons of character. If I’m ever in the neighborhood, I’ll be sure to stop by. πŸ˜‰

  Michelle wrote @

Oh, Karen, your deck and backyard are absolutely lovely! I felt relaxed just looking at those photos. πŸ™‚

  Kim wrote @

I remember when we stayed with you one summer and the cat was bothering Brad and he dropped it out of the kitchen window, not realizing the long drop to the ground. (pre-beautiful deck)! No wonder the cat was frantic. I think she survived. πŸ™‚
These are just beautiful pictures, Karen. I am hoping to have similar meals on our new back patio.
It was so good to see you last weekend! We are settling in slowly….I’ll call you one of these days.

  thatmom wrote @

Kim, I had forgotten that hilarious story! That cat was a survivor and lived to a ripe old age!

We had a wonderful time at the wedding and Ben got some really great pictures. I will get some off to you as soon as he is done editing them. He has quite a few in black and white that are really neat. There is one of Brad and Chelsey walking down the aisle that is priceless.

They whole day was a tremendous blessing to our whole family. Seeing homeschooled children grow up and marry in the Lord is one of the thrills of this whole adventure, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

