thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

july 25 podcast

“The first, and most important thing to remember, is that God is sovereign in the lives of your children even as He was sovereign in your own salvation. Perhaps you have a child who is struggling in his faith or is even now rejecting Christ as his savior. Maybe you have a grown child who has not only rejected Christ but is living a life of debauchery and rebellion. As heartbreaking and discouraging as that certainly is, we have to trust that God’s ways are not our ways and that His timing is not ours. We are responsible before Him to be faithful in presenting the Gospel to our children and for nurturing them in His ways, trusting that His word will not return void. But we must remember that our children’s salvation is by the grace of God by faith alone and that we cannot do anything ourselves to convict our children or to bring them into the family of God.” Listen here for this week’s podcast entitled God’s Curriculum for Homeschooling Moms, Part 2, from the book of 2 John.

4 Comments»

  Koinonia Community wrote @

Good morning Karen. The excuse I have been waiting for to send throngs of people your way. (okay maybe not throngs- but some)

You have been tagged. Stop by for a list a rules. I hope you will play along. It is so much fun to introduce new people to each other.

  Cindy K wrote @

Karen,

This podcast was profound.

My parents got a lot right in raising me, yet as each human being, they had areas where they failed. I’m sure that looking back and probably a motivator for you to do podcasts in general, you must also look back and wish that you “knew then what you know now.” As we grow up and become adults, we are able to go realize what we didn’t get from our parents and then figure out, with the Lord’s help and care, how to give to ourselves what we didn’t get when we were young.

So as I listened (several times), I found myself grieving some of the losses that I feel today. And I am also encouraged by this podcast to go about showing myself compassion and mercy and love as I seek to “mother” myself. This is all so funny, as I always baulked at those self-help books that talk about “reparenting.” It sounds stupid.

And at the same time, I had an opportunity to rejoice and bless my parents for teaching me so many valuable things — mainly to love others as you admonish us to do in this podcast. My parents modelled so much of the love for others that John speaks about in this epistle. I’m so greatly blessed — even though I’ve only begun to understand the simple message of this love — my parents gave me a tremendous gift in their example of their love for others.

It is the cry of my heart that the church of today takes this message to heart: to love one another. Not just those whom they deem elect. Not just the good Christians or the good Samaritans, but the the ones that don’t meet their expectations. Or the show of love only to those from whom they expect will reciprocate or who have “paid into the church” so are then deserving of love. We are called to love. … period.

Still taking it all in.

  thatmom wrote @

Cindy,sometimes our parents are the most difficult to show love to and sometimes they have the most difficulty expressing that love to us.

One thing I have discovered is that the more we find ways to express our love to others, even to those who are unlovely, we receive back way beyond what we give. I am often amazed at how a simple kind word or small act of encouragement will bless others in ways they don’t forget, even long after we have done them.

I had never read the love languages book until a couple years ago and found them to be so helpful in learning how to express love to others. I have noticed that many people just aren’t attentive to the needs of others and they don’t understand how to express love to others in ways that it is meaningful.

I used to know someone who loved to give gifts to others but they were never things that the recipient would like, only things she THOUGHT the recipient would like. She felt great about herself and was often disappointed and even offended when her gift wasn’t raved about.

I think it is often like that with many of us. We tend to express our love in the same way that we want to have it expressed to us. Learning those love languages was eye-opening to me.

I have been so personally blessed in my study of 2 John and in reading through John’s other writings trying to bring clarity to passages. John called himself “the disciple whom Jesus loved” and I have wondered which love language Jesus spoke to John that made him so aware of it. Isn’t that an interesting thought?

  thatmom wrote @

And, Cindy, you are so correct about the reflections I have on parenting now that allmy children are nearly grown. It sure looks different from this side of the road, let me tell you. There are so many things I have learned the hard way and many I have learned by watching my children parent their own children, too!


Leave a Reply

