thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

how did they know I am doris?

My friend, Corrie, suggested I take this remarkably accurate quiz to identify which woman I might be. What a surprise! I am Doris Day. I just want to know how they nailed me in only two questions! And can you believe I even subconsciously chose the same hair style? Here is what I “learned” about myself:


You are a Doris — “I must help others.”

Dorises are warm, concerned, nurturing, and sensitive to other people’s needs.


How to Get Along with Me

• * Tell me that you appreciate me. Be specific.
• * Share fun times with me.
• * Take an interest in my problems, though I will probably try to focus on yours.
• * Let me know that I am important and special to you.
• * Be gentle if you decide to criticize me.

In Intimate Relationships

• * Reassure me that I am interesting to you.
• * Reassure me often that you love me.
• * Tell me I’m attractive and that you’re glad to be seen with me.


What I Like About Being a Doris

• * being able to relate easily to people and to make friends
• * knowing what people need and being able to make their lives better
• * being generous, caring, and warm
• * being sensitive to and perceptive about others’ feelings
• * being enthusiastic and fun-loving, and having a good sense of humor


What’s Hard About Being a Doris

• * not being able to say no
• * having low self-esteem
• * feeling drained from overdoing for others
• * not doing things I really like to do for myself for fear of being selfish
• * criticizing myself for not feeling as loving as I think I should
• * being upset that others don’t tune in to me as much as I tume in to them
• * working so hard to be tactful and considerate that I suppress my real feelings


Dorises as Children Often

• * are very sensitive to disapproval and criticism
• * try hard to please their parents by being helpful and understanding
• * are outwardly compliant
• * are popular or try to be popular with other children
• * act coy, precocious, or dramatic in order to get attention
• * are clowns and jokers (the more extroverted Dorises), or quiet and shy (the more introverted Dorises)


Dorises as Parents

• * are good listeners, love their children unconditionally, and are warm and encouraging (or suffer guilt if they aren’t)
• * are often playful with their children
• * wonder: “Am I doing it right?” “Am I giving enough?” “Have I caused irreparable damage?”
• * can become fiercely protective

BTW, Clay is not Rock Hudson or Gary Grant. He is Jonas Blane.

13 Comments»

  Cindy K wrote @

Oh my word! I’m a Marilyn Monroe. Wouldn’t it figure? And it’s terribly accurate.

http://www.helloquizzy.com/results/are-you-a-jackie-or-a-marilyn-or-someone-else-mad-menera-female-icon-quiz/?fromCGI=1&var_ABC=3&var_XYZ=2

My motto: Tell me what you want done, but don’t every tell me how I have to do it. I’m the kind of person that thinks that stencils stifle my creativity.

I wanna be Doris!

  Cindy K wrote @

Who did Corrie turn out to be?

  Mel wrote @

Who the heck is Ingrid anyway?? 🙂

  thatmom wrote @

Her most famous movie is probably Casablanca but she also played the missionary Gladys Alyward in The Inn of the 7th Happiness.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000006/

  Mel wrote @

Cool. Thanks Karen! I do recognize the name Ingrid Bergman… but never watched enough older movies to recognize her picture with just her first name. My bad!

  Claire wrote @

I’m Katharine Hepburn! And like you and Doris, I do subconsciously imitate her style a lot! What a great quiz 🙂

  Angela wrote @

That was fun, Karen. I’m amazed at the similarities between you and Doris – and me & BETTE!! I posted the results on my blog and WISH the picture were smaller! So not only am I strong, foreceful, etc., etc., even the graphic depicts it!! LOL>…

Blessings ~

  Kim wrote @

So, I’m Audrey….anyone else out there an Audrey?

Wish I could say I look like Audrey Hepburn!

I definitely don’t have her grace and style.

Fun quiz, though!

Good to think about frivolous things on election day!

  Kathleen wrote @

Oh, my, I have “Bette Davis” eyes 😉

http://www.helloquizzy.com/results/are-you-a-jackie-or-a-marilyn-or-someone-else-mad-menera-female-icon-quiz/?fromCGI=1&var_ABC=1&var_XYZ=2

I want to be sweet most of the time … really!

🙂

  Corrie wrote @

Cindy,

I am a Grace. 🙂

  Stacie wrote @

I’m a Joan. Uh oh, now am I supposed to make my kids call me Mommie Dearest?

  thatmom wrote @

You may be Joan on paper but you will always be Audrey Hepburn in my heart!!!


Leave a Reply

