thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

being thankful on saturday

Today I am thankful for:

The gift of laughter ~ Some days, having a sense of humor is the only thing that keeps us sane! A “dumb Disney” movie like “The Monkey’s Uncle” or “The Computer that Wore Tennis Shoes” or a few episodes of “I Love Lucy” help us remember that there is humor in the everyday experiences of life if we only look for it. Jokes told by a six year old, silly faces made by a silly grandma, or stories around the dinner table that made the day interesting, all bring laughter. Today I am thankful for the gift of laughter.

Dishwashers, washing machines, a car, a curling iron, and all the rest ~ When we study world history and I think about how different my life is from the lives of those in the past, even in the days when my mom was a child, I realize how blessed I am to live in this time in history. My life is really a pretty easy one and the labor saving devices we own allow me the time to enjoy so many other things, time with family, reading good books, surfing the net, enjoying projects. Today I am thankful for the conveniences that make my life simpler and better.

Great thoughts ~ I have loved to read since I was a child, though I have moved from a love of fiction to a much larger desire to read works of nonfiction. How wonderful it is that there is such an amazing body of reading material at my fingertips every day, both in my own home, online, or at the library that allows me the privilege of thinking great thoughts, dwelling on ideas that are fresh and new every single day. Today I am thankful for the opportunity to think great thoughts.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

