thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

good ideas for leftover turkey

I will be using up the leftover turkey for potpies for supper and thought I would share two of my favorite recipes for anyone suffering from PTDLSS (Post-Thanksgiving Dinner Leftovers Stress Syndrome). Both are really easy to prepare and make the house smell like Thanksgiving Day all over again.

Turkey Pot Pie with Biscuits

Filling:
4 cups chopped turkey
1 cup chopped onion or can of pearl onions
2 cups potatoes, cooked and sliced or cut into 1” pieces
1 cup sliced carrots
1 cup peas

White Sauce:
1 and ½ sticks butter
6 TBS. flour
6 cups milk
1 tsp. salt
fresh ground black pepper
Over medium heat, melt butter. Whisk in flour. Gradually pour in milk, whisking all the while, until sauce is bubbly and thickened. Add salt and pepper.

Biscuit topping:
3 cups flour
1 ½ TBS. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
¾ cup shortening
1 ¼ to 1 ½ cup milk
Combine flour, baking powder, and salt. Use pastry blender or fork to work un shortening until it looks like coarse crumbs. Add milk stirring it in until mixture leaves side of the bowl and forms a moist dough. On floured surface, roll out to ½ inch thickness and cut out in squares that will fit in your pan.

In a 13 X 9 pan, place turkey, onion, potatoes, carrots, and peas. Pour white sauce over the top. Place cut out biscuits on top, covering as much as you can of the filling. Bake at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes or until bubbly and biscuits are golden.


President’s Turkey

I don’t know what presidents have to do with this dish, but this is my version of what my grandma often made to use up her leftover turkey fixins.

4 cups chopped turkey
Leftover dressing or make a new pan (I like to keep an extra package of seasoned bread crumbs on hand for this)
4 cups white sauce (see above recipe) or gravy or 1 large can cream of mushroom or cream of celery soup with a little milk added to make a thick sauce
Salt and pepper to taste

Layer all ingredients and bake for 30 minutes until bubbly. Can top with cheese the last 10 minutes. (I just realized that when I first posted this recipe, the last couple of sentences didn’t cut and paste so I fixed it!)

1 Comment»

  Talia wrote @

mmm, I love when you post recipes!! These sound perfectly cozy and delicious. Must try!

Do you mind giving me your e-mail address so I can send you the info regarding the scarf exchange? I thought for sure I had it, but I guess I don’t. 🙂
You can leave it in my comments, or if you’d rather, just send me a quick note at my e-mail:
joyouslittlewife at gmail dot com

Thanks!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

