thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

are we teaching our kids to think?

Or are we uploading their human “hard drives” with software they cannot understand if they “crash?”

Last summer we walked through an exhibit at the Museum of Natural History in Chicago, marveling at some of the things that were being presented as “facts.” All three of our sons quickly pointed out the problems with the theories and the holes in their arguments. When we got in the car at the end of the day, they had a hard time taking turns offering their perspectives, all of them talking at once, and wondering, in awe, at how so many silly things could be presented as verifiable “truth.”

I went to public school as a child and hadn’t been taught any science or history from a Biblical worldview perspective. My first introduction to the concept of a “Biblical worldview” came from reading Francis Schaeffer in the early 1980’s. It was the beginning of desiring educational integrity for my own children.

Yesterday I saw this article by John Stonestreet, one of our son’s favorite Summit teachers, on their website and thought I would pass it along. He hits the nail squarely on the head. It isn’t enough to protect our children from the world’s teachings. We need to give them the tools for discernment!

3 Comments»

  Education and Learning wrote @

I read that article. Its very informative. Yes its true there is a need to give the kids the tools for discernment.

Thanks
Laura

  Kathleen wrote @

As a graduate of a public school, I wasn’t taught a biblical worldview either, when it came to human origins. The funny thing was, even though I grew up knowing little what the Bible taught (except that Jesus was God), the Bible sitting on our family’s bookshelf unopened — I knew that what my science teacher was instructing about evolution wasn’t right. In fact, I laughed and made jokes about it all through class (which made my teacher irritable). I just knew that someone must be pulling some kind of wool over our eyes.

After I had become a believer in Jesus in the mid-1980’s, God started to give me a different world view, and by 1990 I got the book “A Time For Anger: The Myth of Neutrality” by Frank Schaeffer, Francis’ son. It was the first time I had read someone explaining how world views can be shaped by the media and other sources. It explained a lot to me at the time, especially about the issue of abortion. I haven’t read that book since then, but remember how it began to challenge my thinking.

About discernment: my family really has to remind me before we watch some sci-fi show or movie when they know I’ll be giving my opinions on its humanistic or evolutionary world views in the plots. They’ve heard it so many times; me teaching them to discern the subtle and not-so-subtle themes in the stories. They’ll tell me, “Mom, we know about the themes, so you don’t have to tell us; we can see it”, or something like that. They let me know I’ve done my job; they just want to enjoy the film. 🙂 I feel confident now that they’ve learned some critical thinking skills and I can breathe a sigh of relief. (my kids are 17 years old and older).

  thatmom wrote @

Kathleen, your comments resonated with me in several ways. I, too, have been “admonished” by older children for having done my job! And sometimes, and this is the most humbling, one of them points something out that I didn’t see and instructs me on why it is or isn’t reflecting a Biblical worldview!

Your comments about how your responded to teaching when you were younger sounds so much like my husband. He told me that the whole time he heard some of the weird stuff he was exposed to, and believe me there was weird stuff growing up in the 50-60-70’s, he questioned everything he was taught. I really believe the Holy Spirit was at work in his life even as a child, showing him Truth in spite of everything else going on in his school, home, etc.

I had to laugh yesterday when a friend told me about her sister working in a psych ward in a hospital and how they had to deal with a delusional woman who kept talking about her interaction with aliens. Her theories sounded just like those of Richard Dawkins as he talked with Ben Stein on the film Expelled!

The writings of Francis Schaeffer were certainly key in my life and my husband’s life as we began to understand what it means to have a worldview and how that worldview looks if we are Christians. I highly recommend having high schoolers read Schaeffer.


Leave a Reply

