thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

honey garlic ribs from the mennonite girls

One more link today….this time one that is a little more fun and less depressing! In fact, I made this recipe a couple nights ago and it was a cheer-you-upper! I will go on record as saying it is the best homemade rib sauce I have ever made and I can’t wait to try it on chops and chicken, especially on the grill. I discovered this website a month or so ago and have been testing out the recipes….”YUM!” says my whole family. And who can go wrong with a blog name like Mennonite Girls Can Cook?

Honey Garlic Ribs

4 pounds pork ribs
1/2 cup honey
1 cup ketchup
1/4 cup soy sauce
4 cloves crushed garlic (I used bottled minced garlic)
1 tsp. coarse pepper (I used fresh ground)
1 tsp. salt (I used coarse kosher salt)

Place ribs in large roasting pan with about 1/2 inch of water. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours. Drain water from roaster.

Combine remaining ingredients to make sauce. pour over the ribs and bake for another 1/2 to 1 hour, basting ribs occasionally with the sauce.

I doubled the recipe so I would have leftovers and made a little extra sauce. Next time I will drain the meat in a colander to be sure all the grease and water is drained off. You will enjoy the sauce for dipping, too, and over mashed potatoes, which is how I served it.

3 Comments»

  Cindy K wrote @

My all time favorite cookbook:
http://www.amazon.com/More-Less-Cookbook-World-Community/dp/083619263X/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1235102838&sr=8-2

Mine is an old, worn 25 year old spiral bound copy, now well weathered. It’s got great bread recipes in it. It’s definitely not full of tofu recipes but has great, economical info about how to stretch meals and save money.

  Trish wrote @

My favourite all-time too, Cindy!…covers gone when I found it.

  Talia wrote @

mmmm, these sound delish. And so easy!! hmm, this might be dinner tonight. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

