thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

25 random things about me, as per request

1. I love Jesus because He first loved me.

2. I met my husband in a college class on the Puritans and Transcendentalists. The professor who taught that class ended up being the pastor who married us 34 years ago.

3. I wish I could sing like Aretha Franklin and can sometimes be heard singing Motown at the top of my lungs in my kitchen while I do dishes.

4. I once ate an entire jar of olives in one sitting and chased it with all the brine. I was pregnant with my daughter at the time and was really sick afterward. We both still love olives.

5. I have six children, one daughter and five sons, have homeschooled for the past 24 years and have lived to tell about it. History is my favorite subject.

6. I am an only child and was adopted when I was six days old. My birth mom was only 15 and had brown hair and blue eyes. I don’t know her name.

7. I love public speaking. I mean really love it. In fact, I once won first place in a Toastmasters District Speech contest with my story about mummifying a chicken.

8. I love cooking but I really love watching my family eat what I cook. My specialty is homemade bread.

9. When I was in the 6th grade, I was obsessed with horses so my parents bought one for me. He came with the name Blackie and he often bit me.

10. Red is my favorite color and is everywhere in my house….the living room walls, my favorite sweater, my Kitchen-aid mixer, my car, sometimes my hair.

11. I adore chocolate so Hershey’s syrup is my beverage of choice. Second to that is salsa with lots of cilantro.

12. I took one of those “which celebrity are you?” tests and came out as Doris Day. Big surprise there.

13. I am disgustingly cheerful at 4:30 am which is when our alarm goes off. I like coffee but it isn’t necessary to achieve this state.

14. I have 10 grandchildren and all 10 of them have their grandpa’s fingernails and eyebrows and my kitty nose.

15. If Hollywood decides to put my life on the big screen, Bonnie Hunt will play me and Clay will be played by Dennis Haysbert because Fred McMurray is dead and Andy Griffith is too old now.

16. I love to read and study. My personal library holds about 5,000 books. I prefer non-fiction.

17. I love Ken Burns documentaries and think there is little that is more inspiring than someone’s biography.

18. I think the Gilmore Girls and Raymond are hysterical and sometimes I find myself fighting my inner Marie Barrone/Lorelei Gilmore combo.

19. I could watch the movie The Christmas Card 10 times in a row and not get tired of it. Christmas, an army guy, snow, and romance. It doesn’t get any better than that.

20. The most amazing place I have ever lived was Bad Tolz, Germany and the most beautiful place I have ever seen was Big Sur. But no place is more glorious than an Illinois cornfield in the middle of July.

21. I feel passionately about the pro-life issue, God’s Word being the Truth, and the need to proclaim the Gospel of Jesus Christ whenever we can.

22. I am writing a book. Yes, a book. One day I hope to find someone who will be willing to publish it. It is basically the written version of my hall of shame. It is about grace.

23. When we first got married, I told Clay that my idea of the perfect housewife was Lucy Ricardo. He told me that the perfect husband was Fred Flintstone. We are deliriously happy together and our love grows more and more every day.

24. Nearly 30 years ago I began reading Francis Schaeffer and it changed my life.

25. When I realized that my children are my brothers and sisters in Christ and that I am to one another them, it changed my life as a mother.

13 Comments»

  Hillary wrote @

#22…YAY!!!!!!!

  gillypad wrote @

These are fun! Thanks!

  Carole wrote @

Oh dear. Somehow I made that comment as gillypad even though that’s not me. How funny. Anyhow, the “These are fun! Thanks!” comment was from me. 🙂

  Kathy wrote @

I love the Gilmore Girls, at least the earlier, more innocent years–dh, dd and I used to regularly watch them weekly. And I adore cilantro in most anything–I think liking cilantro could be my personality compatibility test!

  TaunyaH wrote @

Loved it all, especially number 25!! Oh by the way red is my favorite color too!!!

  Susan T wrote @

Very fun, inspiring, educational… #15 & #18 caught my eye. I’ll have to go IMDB “Dennis Haysbert”, but I get the point because we love Fred & Andy here. We also loved Raymond when it was on- poor Deborah, poor turkey!

  thatmom wrote @

Poor Deborah, yes. But on one level I understand Marie since I am the mom of so many sons. I have wonderful daughters-in-law and they take such great care of my sons.

I think Marie’s problem is that she has spent her whole life wanting her emotional needs to be met and since Frank is so inept at doing that, she gets them met by her boys.

My all-time favorite episode is when Robert applies for an FBI job and while he is at the interview, the guy interviewing him gets the fax from Marie. I’m telling you, I have had to fight the little Marie that lives in my head!!!

  thatmom wrote @

Kathy, I just discovered last night how awesome cilantro is sprinkled on top of a bowl of chili. 55 years it took me to find this out….so sad!

  thatmom wrote @

Susan, I was sorry I didn’t get a chance to chat with you on Saturday. What a great day it was, though, and I met so many sweet moms. I had a hard time getting ready for the day because I kept wanting to stop and reread every book I pulled off the shelf!

  thatmom wrote @

Gilmores, well yes. I had never seen them before about 3 years ago when I watched them straight through on DVD. Sometimes I am Emily Gilmore, to my horror. Sometimes I identify with Rorie, though I agree that the later seasons were awful…I really hated how she changed. I hated Dean. I loved Jess, though.

One of the things I really liked was how Lorelei grew up through the years. I just hated the last season, though, and it seemed out of character and like the new writers were trying to put her back in the first season. Dumb.

  thatmom wrote @

Carole, gillypad was a fun choice if you weren’t going to be Carole for a day, er, for a comment!

  thatmom wrote @

Hillary, thanks for the vote of confidence. I am waiting on baited breath for your book…hoping to do a podcast with you when it comes out!

  Hillary wrote @

AWWW you are so sweet! I am currently in the editing/publisher-searching stage. Praying for God’s timing! 🙂 And I would honored that you would even think of adding me to your library of fantastic podcasts.


Leave a Reply

