thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

oatmeal carmelitas

pillsbury1

For several years, my daughter and I have been baking the same recipe for chocolate chip oatmeal bars that we simply refer to as “the bars.” They are our default dessert recipe, the one we whip up when we are greeting last minute guests or the great need for chocolate descends upon the house.

Last week she called and asked me if I had ever tried the recipe in our twin cookbooks that is on the same page as “the bars” to which I replied, “Oh, the Oatmeal Carmelitas? No, but I have thought about it,” the simple combination of caramel, chocolate chips, and pecans sounding deliciously like a Turtle candy. “Me, too,” she said, though this day she had actually baked them and they were wonderful.

Today is the day we tried the Carmelitas and now I wonder why so many years have passed by in my life without them. Move over bars.

Oatmeal Carmelitas

Crust

2 cups flour
2 cups rolled oats
1 ½ cup brown sugar
1 tsp. soda
½ tsp. salt
1 ¼ butter softened to room temperature

Filling

1 cup caramel ice cream topping
3 TBS. flour
1 cup chocolate chips
½ cup nuts (I prefer pecans)

In bowl, mix together crust ingredients. Press half of it (about 3 cups) into a greased 9 X 13 pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes. Mix together caramel topping and flour until well blended. When crust is baked, sprinkle with chips and nuts. Drizzle caramel on top. Top with rest of crust mixture and bake for 18-22 minutes. Cool completely and place in fridge for a couple hours to set the filling.

This recipe comes from my favorite baking cookbook, pictured above, that is now out of print. You can find copies of it from time to time at used bookstores online. It is called Pillsbury: The Complete Book of Baking and is definitely one to add to your collection. (As of this post, there is a copy of this 1993 book available on ebay and several can also be purchased as Albris.)

4 Comments»

  thatmom wrote @

I kept wondering what it was about these bar cookies that were so good. They just tasted so familiar, but better, if you know what I mean.

So I used the handy dandy search engine on my blog and found this recipe:

https://thatmom.wordpress.com/2008/05/03/caramel-dream-bars/

which is amazingly similar. Am I suffering from early Alzheimers? I thought so until I realized that my daughter had also given me THAT recipe! Must be that we both were in some sort of chocolate-induced frenzy. 🙂

  janverhoeff wrote @

those sound absolutely delicious. I love a great cookie!!!

We’re all oatmeal chocolate chip cookie lovers at this house…

http://charger-mom.blogspot.com

Jan

  thatmom wrote @

Ooohhh, Jan, have I got another recipe for you. Try these:

https://thatmom.wordpress.com/2008/06/17/cowboy-cookies/

  Corrie wrote @

Okay, Karen, these ROCK!!! I made two pans and made a bunch of plates for the neighbors and kept some for my family. I put sprinkled coconut on one of the bars when I added the chocolate chips and pecans. This is a keeper. I will have to run an extra mile or two!


Leave a Reply

