thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

what is missing in Obama’s universal pre-school plan?

I’ve been reading through the Moore books, being reminded of how much their ideas resonated with me years ago. If someone asked me some of the things I see in my own in my children that are a direct result of putting their principles into practice, at the top of the list would be the insatiable desire they each have to be life-long learners.

I learned something interesting myself last week. I guess the creators of Google were both educated via the Montessori method and attribute much of their success and creativity to this fact. Interestingly enough, Montessori purists recognize the same things that most homeschoolers do…children are naturally creative and inquisitive. We know that being given little formality in learning during the early years and being allowed to explore the world around them, they will develop a love for learning that will be life-long.

I believe that this can best happen in the home with loving parents who will not only provide an atmosphere of nurturing and safe exploration but will also help their children recognize that it is a personal, creator God who has created the beautiful world around them for His own glory. In fact as they learn that it is God who created each of them and that He desires a relationship with them through His son, Jesus Christ, they will grow in wisdom, stature, and in favor with both God and man.

I do not believe either of these principles can best be accomplished through the universal pre-school ideals that are currently being promoted by our president and his NEA advisors and it appears that I am not alone.

(You can also find more interesting information at the universal pre-school website along with some great ideas for pre-school fun at home.)

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

