thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

spring = time for homeschooling conventions

Spring is most certainly here. Not only have the daffodils started to bloom in central Illinois, but this week brings in the anticipation of our local homeschooling convention. Clay and I are playing it by ear this year, trying to work in our attendance around his really busy work schedule.

A year ago I thought about the good, bad, and ugly of homeschooling conventions and shared my words of warning here. I thought it would be a great idea to bring back those essays once again for those preparing to attend their local conventions.

In part one, I talked about the threat to our own sense of reality that might occur the minute you walk in the door of the convention center. In part two, I address the threat to a mom’s contentment that can come when an extra-biblical agenda for dad is promoted. And in part three, I talk about the threat that homeschooling conventions can become to your relationship with Jesus Christ and with others. I hope you will take the time to read through those articles.

Also, my friend Deanne has re-posted her good article about preparing for conventions that I think would be helpful to you. Deanne has spent years working tirelessly in our local APACHE group and has been such a source of blessing and encouragement to thousands of homeschooling families over the years.

2 Comments»

  deannecrawford wrote @

Great stuff Karen 🙂 and I hope to see you this weekend at the APACHE Convention!

  Cally Tyrol wrote @

I’m thinking about heading to our local conference this year. They are giving a free day to preschool moms. Thank God because the price to get in is crazy and, frankly, I could never give money to an organization that hired Voddie Baucham to do the keynote speech. More of the same… but I am very excited to see the rest of it this summer.


Leave a Reply

