thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

scrambled egg cups

For the life of me, I can’t remember where I found the original recipe for these. It was someone’s website or blog. If it was YOU, please leave a comment so I can give you the credit due. Wherever it came from, these are delicious and I think they would be great for an Easter brunch or breakfast after a sunrise service. I will serve them at a large gathering sometime along with our favorite fruit slushies and blueberry muffins. You will have to experiment with the exact amounts of ingredients to fit your own muffin tins.

Scrambled Egg Cups

Preheat oven to 375 degrees and spray large muffin tin with vegetable spray. (When I say large, I don’t mean the giant cups.)

Fill bottom of each cup with frozen hash browns. We prefer the O’brien potatoes in ours. Sprinkle each with 1/4 cup shredded cheese and any kind of pre-cooked meat, like sausage, bacon, or ham. In seperate bowl, whip together 1 1/2 eggs and 1/4 cup milk or evaporated milk for each serving; sprinkle with coarse salt and fresh ground black pepper. Pour 1/2 cup of mixture over each cup. Bake for about 20 minutes. When sharp knife comes out clean, remove from oven and allow to cool about 10 minutes before removing from pan. These can be frozen and reheated later.

3 Comments»

  Lisa P. wrote @

This looks yummy and perfect for a breakfast potluck our church is having this Sunday! I want to try it, but I have a question or two. What constitutes a serving? 1 cup in the muffin pan, or 2?
How do you halve an egg to have “1 1/2 eggs and 1/4 cup milk…for each serving”? Do you mean 1 egg and 1/4 c. milk for each cup in the muffin pan? Or 3 eggs and 1/4 c. milk for every 2 cups in the muffin pan?
Or…let’s say I have a muffin pan with 12 cups, how many eggs and how much milk then?
Your directions may actually be more clear than how I’m reading them, but, I’m confused.
Thank you!

  thatmom wrote @

Hi Lisa,

I guess I hadn’t thought about what it would look like making 12 because I only made 6 at a time! For the whole pan (12 muffins) you would mix together 18 eggs and 3 cups of milk. It takes about 1/2 cup of this mixture over the hash browns in each cup. You might have to play with it a little. It also depends on the size of the muffin cups. Mine are fairly large so I would serve only one per serving. But if the cups are smaller, you would probably need two. I’m sorry I haven’t experimented enough to know for sure! Let me know what you find out when you make them! 🙂

  Cindy K wrote @

I’m to lazy to do the individual thing and have just poured it all in a casserole dish.

I’ve also added more milk and egg, breaking up bread in the milk/egg mixture with shredded cheese, soaking the crumbled bread in there for at least an hour. It gets all fluffy when you bake it, and two people have told me that it looks like Pizza on the top. I put ground dry mustard powder in mine, too. And GARLIC! My husband says I can’t really make anything without garlic or a lot of onion.


Leave a Reply

