thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

happy birthday to sam

scan0001

Today we are celebrating another family birthday. I continue to be amazed at how fast time has flown by. Sometimes I long for the good old days of little ones around my feet in the kitchen while I cook and hungry ones hurrying to finish supper so they can head to the backyard with a ball glove. But mostly I am so grateful for God’s continual grace in the lives of the children He loaned to me ever so briefly.

Today my son, Sam, turns 30. He is the most laid back one of the bunch, the perpetual exhorter, the Beaver Cleaver turned homeschool dad. When I was in labor with him in the hospital in Bad Tolz, Germany, the midwife knew something was wrong, terribly wrong. She hurried the delivery and the doctor whisked my baby away to a hospital 50 miles away from me. I spent the first few days after he was born weeping and longing to hold my son, crying out to the Lord to spare his little life. We hadn’t settled on a name but Samuel seemed appropriate and so Sam it was.

Sam, whom I always called my treasure, will always hold a very special place in my heart for many reasons, one being that he is the first child I taught to read. We both were so proud of ourselves and I will always cherish that time we spent together.

Today Sam is still my treasure, the sunny one who calls me long distance to chat about politics, what he has just read, to fill me in on all the cute things his kids have said that week. We have great times of fellowship even though we are a thousand miles apart. We are so proud of him and today we wish him every happiness.

Sam, we love you!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

