thatmom

real encouragement for real homeschooling moms

grandma’s carrot cake

carrot cake

Yesterday we celebrated my mom’s 87th birthday and I made one of her favorite meals, fried chicken and creamy white gravy, corn on the cob and fresh asparagus. For a week I kept asking her what kind of a cake she would like for me to bake but she just couldn’t decide. “You’ve eaten too many delicious cakes in 87 years it is hard to pick just one!” I told her.

I was going through recipes I have been meaning to try and finally settled on a state fair prize winner I have had tucked away for a few years. I tweaked it a little and it was absolutely melt-in-your-mouth wonderful.

Carrot Cranberry Cake

1 ¾ cups all purpose flour
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp ground cinnamon
2 tsp ground ginger
1 tsp salt
½ tsp allspice
1 ½ cups brown sugar
1 cup sour cream or mayonnaise or combination of both
3 eggs
1 TBS vanilla
1 8 ounce can crushed pineapple with juice
2 cups shredded carrots
½ cup chopped walnuts
½ dried cranberries

Favorite Butter Cream recipe

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Prepare 3 round cake pans by spraying with Pam and a light dusting of flour.

Mix flour, soda, powder, spices, and salt. Set aside. Beat sugar, sour cream or mayo, and eggs until fluffy. Add dry ingredients. Mix until batter is smooth. Mix in pineapple and carrots. Fold in nuts and cranberries. Pour into pans. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes until toothpick comes out clean. Place on wire racks to cool for 10-15 minutes. Take a sharp knife and loosen all around edge of pan. Invert on rack and cool completely. Place on cake plate, one layer at a time, frosting in between. May add a little pineapple juice to frosting for color and flavor. Can also be frosted with cream cheese frosting. Looks pretty garnished with sugared orange peel and cranberries.

10 Comments»

  jen oliver wrote @

Mmmm…must try this for my husband! He’ll love the cranberries–thanks!

  Savannah wrote @

Oh, my goodness, that looks delicious! If I ever bake again, I may bake this!

  Hillary wrote @

YUM!!! I love Carrot Cake! I will have to try this!!!

  anika wrote @

I too love carrot cake,
I may need to walk down to the bakery to see if they have this here in France…
I don’t recollect seeing it..
but all their other facies,
well can be so distracting!
hmmm
to be in my own kitchen
and make this!
homesick! thank you for this post!!!!
it feels like a hug!
<

  anika wrote @

and now …
a future blog post…
THATMOMS fabulous
Buttercream recipe…
is it here somewhere?????

  Kathleen wrote @

Delicious. I love carrot cake. Thanks for posting this.

  baby nursery decoration wrote @

I absolutely love a good piece of carrot cake (or the whole thing). I will be trying this one soon!

  katiekind wrote @

That looks DEE-LISH!

My husband loves carrot cake and I never make it.

  buttercream frosting « thatmom wrote @

[…] few weeks ago I shared my wonderful carrot cake recipe discovery but didn’t remember that the buttercream frosting recipe was also requested until today.  […]

  MIKE wrote @

Hi there. I should let you know, I was searching for a carrot-cranberry cake to make at my work yesterday when i came across your recipe. I made it today and it turned out great. Thank you for posting it. Everybody loved it!


Leave a Reply

